About me

Me at Gwithian Beach
I graduated with a B.A.Hons Degree in Graphic Design and Illustration from Norwich School of Art in 1989 and since then have worked for a wide range of publishers and designers including BBC Gardeners World Magazine, The Met Office, British Gas, Fortnum and Masons, Barefoot Books, Oxford University Press, Nelson Thornes Ltd, Scholastic, Lion Publishing, Dorset County Council and many more.

As important as creating work to commission, I also create illustrations for ranges of greetings cards, prints and homewares including mugs, tea towels and tote bags as well as creating one-off original artworks from small assemblage art pieces to larger paintings and prints. These are sold through galleries and art outlets, at fairs and online. I also license my images for reproduction to greetings card and publishing companies andoffer a wide range of my printed artworks at wholesale prices too.

Children's book publishing is an area I love to work in. I carried out commission for Childrens books in the early 2000s for the companies listed above, and after taking some time off from taking on commissions after the birth of my son in 2005 I am now looking to create work in that area for commissioned jobs and also for my own stories.

My work combines narrative and figurative elements. I love folk art and folk tales, the sea, landscape, literature, birds, nature, mythical creatures and stories, working in different media such as drawing, printmaking, surface pattern and decorative design. I also love to incorporate my own words and hand-drawn lettering alongside my visual artwork.

Visiting schools and organisations as an artist is also something I enjoy doing. I have lots of experience as a part time TA in a local junior school (and have worked with other ages on art projects) so have plenty of knowledge of working with curriculum subjects and can tailor projects to suit current topics.

I have also created many mural works in private and public spaces, examples of which can be found in the Projects and Events section here.

In my spare time I love to get out and about in the beautiful Dorset Countryside where I live, and to go mountain biking, swim, draw, visit our lovely caravan at Gwithian in Cornwall as many times as possible through the year, to have great times with friends and above all be a mum to my son who was born in 2005 and who still keeps me nice and busy.


:)